Dec 18, 2019

SPRINGFIELD, MA – American Hockey League President and Chief Executive Officer David Andrews announced today that Ontario Reign alumni Matt Moulson and California native Matthew Ford have been selected as the playing captains for the 2020 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Ontario International Airport, to be held January 26-27 in Ontario.


Each year, the All-Star Classic honorary captains join the participating teams in the locker room and on the benches during the event, and are recognized for their careers at the annual AHL Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony.


Playing in his 14th professional season in 2019-20, Matt Moulson first joined the Los Angeles Kings organization in 2006 after four seasons at Cornell University and later spent two years with the Ontario Reign (2017-19) before signing with Hershey last summer. A native of North York, Ont., Moulson has recorded eight goals and eight assists in 28 games with the Bears this season and has skated in 983 pro contests, including 333 in the American Hockey League and 650 in the NHL with Los Angeles, the New York Islanders, Buffalo and Minnesota. A three-time 30-goal scorer at the NHL level, Moulson will be making the first All-Star appearance of his pro career.


Southern California native Matthew Ford is in his fourth season with Grand Rapids and his 12th in the AHL in 2019-20. The Griffins’ team captain has tallied four goals and 10 assists in 23 games this season and has compiled 200 goals and 217 assists for 417 points in 687 career AHL contests with Grand Rapids, Bakersfield, Oklahoma City, Springfield, Adirondack, Hershey, Lake Erie and Hartford. Ford, a Calder Cup champion with the Griffins in 2017 and an NCAA champion at the University of Wisconsin in 2006, will be making his first trip to the AHL All-Star Classic.


Tickets for the 2020 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Ontario International Airport, which include admission to both the AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, Jan. 26, and the AHL All-Star Challenge on Monday, Jan. 27, are available now by visiting ontarioreign.com/allstar.

The 2020 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Ontario International Airport will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League: since 1995, more than 95 percent of All-Star Classic participants have gone on to compete in the National Hockey League, including Cam Atkinson, Patrice Bergeron, Jordan Binnington, Ben Bishop, John Carlson, Zdeno Chara, Logan Couture, Connor Hellebuyck, Braden Holtby, Tyler Johnson, Andreas Johnsson, Martin Jones, Jonathan Marchessault, Brandon Montour, William Nylander, Kyle Palmieri, Zach Parise, Mikko Rantanen, Tuukka Rask, Pekka Rinne, Dylan Strome, P.K. Subban and Mats Zuccarello.

In operation since 1936, the American Hockey League serves as the top development league for the players, coaches, managers, executives, broadcasters and staff of all 31 National Hockey League teams. Nearly 90 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame spent time in the AHL in their careers. In 2018-19, over 7 million fans attended AHL regular-season and playoff games across North America.


The Ontario Reign are underway in the 2019-20 season, their fifth as members of the American Hockey League. For more information on the upcoming season, as well as the 2020 AHL All-Star Classic, to be held in Ontario, visit ontarioreign.com, and to secure your seats with a Reign ticket plan, call 909.941.7825.

Back to All