Apr 6, 2020

ONTARIO, CA – The Ontario Reign, proud AHL affiliate of the LA Kings, announced today that Brett Sutter has been named as the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Inland Empire community during the 2019-20 season.


This is Sutter’s third IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award with Ontario. A leader on the ice as the Reign’s captain, Sutter demonstrates equally great leadership off the ice through kindness and generosity at Reign community appearances, team events and jersey auctions. Sutter led the Reign during their annual trip to Danbury School, as the team visited with special education students. 


This season, Sutter and the Reign partnered with Special Olympics Inland Empire to participate in the 2020 Polar Plunge. Sutter and his younger brother Chris, a Special Olympics athlete himself, joined the Hope Reigns Foundation to raise money for the Special Olympics Inland Empire floor hockey team, a venture that raised $6,332.


Sutter is now one of 31 finalists for the AHL’s 2019-20 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League at a later date.

Back to All